Party Like it’s 1918

The Miller Sport Update

In their 113th season the Boston Red Sox won their 8th World Series, and became the first three-time World Series champions in the new millennium. It took 95 years (since 1918), but the “Beantown Nine” have finally clinched the World Series at home…again.


In the 1918 World Series the Sox faced off against the Chicago Cubs in the only Fall Classic to played entirely in September, because the season was shortened due to World War I. It was also the first time the Star Spangled Banner was played during  the seventh inning of a baseball game, also due to the WWI.

Babe Ruth headlined the Sox team splitting time in the outfield and the mound.  He won two games (pitching a shut out in Game 1) and did NOT hit a home run during the Series. As a matter of fact the 1918 World Series is one of only 3 World Series eve,r that neither team hit a “round tripper” (the other two 1906, and ’07). Boston scored only 9…

元の投稿を表示 さらに280語



以下に詳細を記入するか、アイコンをクリックしてログインしてください。 ロゴ アカウントを使ってコメントしています。 ログアウト /  変更 )

Google+ フォト

Google+ アカウントを使ってコメントしています。 ログアウト /  変更 )

Twitter 画像

Twitter アカウントを使ってコメントしています。 ログアウト /  変更 )

Facebook の写真

Facebook アカウントを使ってコメントしています。 ログアウト /  変更 )


%s と連携中